Chicken Salad Sans Mayo

I know that I’ve made my distaste for certain foods quite clear on this blog in the past. I’ve done entire posts on foods I hate. One of the biggest targets on my list is mayonnaise. My previously stated thoughts on mayo:

You know what pops in my head when  I think of mayo?  What would come out of my thighs of I ever had liposuction.  Mmm.  Tasty.

Doesn’t that make you just want to drink it? Oh yeah.

The only problem with not liking mayo is cutting out Spring/Summertime staples like chicken salad, potato salad & coleslaw. We all know about my love affair with Zoe’s Kitchen & their yogurt-based potato salad & vinaigrette based coleslaw inspired me to give a mayo-less chicken salad a shot.

Ingredients:

-Chicken (rotisserie, can, leftover baked/grilled breasts, whatever you have)

-Handful of pea pods, chopped (these provide a nice crunchy alternative to the traditional celery)

-Olive Oil

-Onion (preferably fresh chopped, but I only had the kind from the spice aisle around)

-Lime Juice (Lemon is fine as well, I just prefer lime)

-Zoe’s Seasoning (the spice of GODS) or salt & pepper & whatever you prefer

The execution is not rocket science. Throw everything in a bowl. Mix.

& serve however you wish – on top of a bed of greens, stuffed in a pita, slathered on two hearty slices of wheat… The possibilities are endless 🙂

 

3 Comments

Filed under Chicken

3 responses to “Chicken Salad Sans Mayo

  1. Leah

    Looks pretty good! Let me know how it is! 🙂

  2. Sounds delish! I have a similar distaste for mayo, but have subbed fat-free plain Greek yogurt instead. It’s a nice substitute, but I your chicken salad recipe sounds way better!

  3. That looks great! I do love mayo, but its good to have alternatives to it!

Leave a Reply

