Oh, September…

Brandon & I have been talking about our “Baby Bucket List” pretty much since we got married… & we’re finally tackling one of the biggest items on that list.

I’ll give you a few clues:

If you guessed that we’ll be drinking Guinness in Ireland… That I’ll be gallivanting around Paris like Carrie… & staring out of our hotel room in London at Westminster Abbey

Then you’re totally right!

We finally booked our trip last night & I couldn’t be more excited! We’re heading over seas beginning Labor Day weekend & conveniently, we’ll be in Paris on my 27th birthday (I didn’t plan that one at ALL :sheepish grin:). We’re flying from Jacksonville through Atlanta to London then right on a flight to Dublin. 3 nights there, then moving on to Paris. 3 nights in Paris, the on to London for 3 more nights. Then back to the USofA (unless we decide we were actually meant to be Europeans… & with this Trump nonsense, there’s a distinct possibility of that).

So that’s where y’all come in. What do we need to do, see, eat & drink in these awesome cities?

Here’s what I have so far:

Dublin:

-Guinness Factory (duh)

-Dublin Castle

-Glashevin Cemetary

-Howth

-Microbreweries: Against the Grain, The Bull & Castle

Paris:

-Eiffel Tower

-Arc de Triomphe

-Louvre

-Notre Dame

-Seine River Cruise

-Versailles

-Hemingway Bar at The Ritz

London:

-Buckingham Palace

-St. James Place

-Trafalgar Square

-Westminster Abbey/Palace of Westminster

-Big Ben

-Churchill Museum

-Downing Street

Seriously, I can’t even put into words how excited I am! These next few months of planning are going to be a blast!

11 Comments

Filed under Europe 2011

11 responses to “Oh, September…

  1. Oh, I adore Paris. I have been three times, and can’t wait for trips number 4, 5, 6, 7… Make sure you sit at small cafes for a long time, sipping un cafe and nibbling un croissant!

  2. Leah

    I’m SOOOO EXCITED for you! 😀 You will have such an amazing time and I can’t wait to see and hear all about it when you get back! 😀 I also think it’s such a great idea to have a “baby bucket list.” What else is on there?

  3. Ah you are so lucky!! I’ve been to London and Paris twice and I just love it there. And on your birthday to top it off?! That trip is going to be amazing! 🙂

  4. St. Stephen’s Green in Dublin was really pretty. It’s a park, but it’s a beautiful Irish park with interesting statuary. Also, if you go outside the city, Kilkenny is a fun town to stop in.

  5. Oh my FREAKING gosh. This trip is going to be so epic.

    My only main suggestions are get a wicked kiss under the eifel tower and make someone photograph it, cause it’s AWESOME.

    and Get a nutella crepe from a SHADY looking crepe stand after 10pm… IT will change your life. The little stands and late hours make it taste better, I SWEAR it.

  6. so jealous!!! You guys are going to have an amazing time and forget about us all!

    • Devon

      I won’t forget about you all.. Why you ask? Because our hotel in London has iMacs with WIFI in every room. What?!

  7. Aj

    OMG!!! So stoked for you! I’ve only been to Paris of those but Versailles would definitely be at the top of my list to see again! Take a picnic with a bottle of red wine and wear a beret!

  8. My best times in London were my runs. Bring your shoes and camera–we expect blogs with pictures from your awesome runs immediately upon your return. I just took off daily from my dorm room in various different directions and still remember those runs as the closest that I ever felt to the culture, sights, and people. Have a blast!

  9. I’m so jealous! You’re going to have an amazing time! I can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Packing for Europe: Planning Stages « Confections of a Food Bitch

Leave a Reply

