Packing for Europe: Planning Stages

I’m a lunatic. That should come as no surprise to any of you. So what I’m about to tell you really shouldn’t come as a shock. I expect most of you to shrug & say think “Devon’s being a crazy bitch per usual“. At least that’s what Brandon did when I told him about this.

About three months ago, I started a packing spreadsheet on Google Documents for our vacation to Dublin, Paris & London.20110803-025518.jpg

I also started an itinerary spreadsheet.
20110803-025649.jpg

Did I mention I love spreadsheets?

I Googled like a mad woman to make sure I had the *perfect* outfits lined up. Most of the “How to Pack for Europe” articles & posts were bland & boring. I needed specific ideas. Really, Rick Steves? Your suggestion of 1-2 vests is NOT helpful.

J from J’s Everyday Fashion did a guest post on Peanut Butter Fingers that was ridiculously helpful. Her specific outfits & multiple uses helped me see the full potential of every article of clothing I had in mind. Once I found that post, I grabbed both my spreadsheets & I wrote all over them both to make sure I had outfits for every day & every occasion.20110803-025721.jpg
Sitting down to plan 11 daily outfits plus 3 evening outfits make me realize that a few items I thought would be staples were completely unnecessary. It also brought to mind several items I’d never even thought to pack, but now I’ll be glad I did.

Oh, & guess what? I leave in 25 days!

5 Comments

Filed under Europe 2011, Pure Crazycakes

5 responses to “Packing for Europe: Planning Stages

  1. Leah

    I love that you made spreadsheets.
    I totally do that for trips too. If I don’t, I inevitably end up forgetting something important. haha. contact solution, bras, etc.
    & holy crap, 25 days!!! 😀

  2. I don’t use the word “jealous” often… but I am insanely “jealous” of your trip!
    I make tons of lists when I pack for a trip. Have you been to Paris before? Everyone was wearing dark colors and scarves when I went… loved it! And if you like creepy stuff… visit the catacombs.

  3. This post brings me to a happy place, I LOVE organization! Excel and I have a very strong bond as well. 🙂

  4. I didn’t realize you got a new blog name! LOVE it!! 🙂 Also – I can’t wait to stalk your European travels. I am so excited for you!

    We should hang out again sometime!

    • Thanks! Blog is only about two weeks old, so you haven’t missed too much.

      Let’s do! I’ve been thinking about hosting a little tea party soon… I’ll let you know if I do!

Leave a Reply

