I Guess I Need to Get Serious

Contrary to the Maple Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies, Cake Batter Pancakes & Nutella S’mores I keep posting about, I actually do try to adhere to a healthy lifestyle bu eating mostly healthy & staying fit.

For the past three years, I’ve run the Outback Distance Classic on Thanksgiving Day. For the past two years, I’ve run the half marathon distance (a 6k/3.6 mile distance is also offered). I fully intend on doing the same this year as well.

Thanksgiving is exactly 15 weeks & 1 day from today.

Gulp.

I haven’t run more than 5 miles since March

Double gulp.

My go-to 12-week training plan would have me starting in Europe (which would be totally cool).

So I have 3-weeks to start whipping my butt into shape for half marathon training. Currently, I’m lifting twice a week with New Rules of Lifting for Women& running 2-3 about twice a week (occasionally I’ll throw in a 4-5 miler). So here’s my plan for the next 3 weeks to ease into the training mindset:

  • Continue lifting 2 days a week
  • Run 3-4 miles twice a week
  • Run 5 miles this week, 5.5 miles next week, 6 the next week to up my endurance

By the time I technically start training, my mind will be ready to do it. That’s what the pre-season is for, right?

2 Comments

Filed under half marathon, running, Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Guess I Need to Get Serious

  1. Leah

    You can do it! 🙂 And taking a leisurely run in Europe would actually be pretty amazing. Although my plans for working out when I’m on vacation very rarely pan out. 😉

  2. Pingback: Progress « Confections of a Food Bitch

Leave a Reply

