E for Eggy Whites in a Basket

Brandon’s been on a V for Vendetta kick lately. It came on FX, he DVR’d it & we’ve since watched it about a half-dozen times. I mean, what’s not to love about a Guy Fawkes mask?

Anyone else have a rack full of DVDs that you never watch, but as soon as one of those movies is on TV you watch it the 3 times it’s played that weekend? No? Just us? Figures.

Well if you haven’t seen the movie (which you totally should), V makes Evie eggy in the basket for breakfast. Being a food bitch, I thought it looked delicious & I decided to give it a try.

Warning: this may have been a massive failure or success, I haven’t decided. All I know is my cholesterol HAS to be up a few points.

Start by cutting a circle in a piece of bread. I used a biscuit cutter:

Place the hollowed bread into a greased up pan (you can use Pam, oil, or my favorite – bacon grease). Slowly pour your egg mixture into the hollowed center & let it fry. I chose to do just egg whites, but the tradition recipe calls for an egg cracked directly into the center.

& fry, baby, fry.

Side note: Stephen Fry is a cast member in V for Vendetta. His character, Dietrich, also makes Evie eggy in a basket. Coincidence? I think not.

Best served with bacon, obviously.

 

2 Comments

Filed under bacon, Breakfast, Man Food

2 responses to “E for Eggy Whites in a Basket

  1. I’ve always looooooved eggs in a basket/eggs in a frame. So simple but so delicious. Although I’m also a sucker for runny eggs too. 😉
    Now I’ll have to make them…. with bacon… damn you.

  2. D

    We make those ALL. THE. TIME. For some reason we call them ‘Toad in the Hole’ I think it was called that on a menu or something…

Leave a Reply

