Europe Part 1: Dublin

Whew! I know I’ve been back for a few days now, but it’s been a whirlwind of heading back to work, running & laundry. I finally went through all my pictures & I’m thrilled to present my review & recap of our 11-day European adventure.

The first three nights of our trip were spent in Dublin, Ireland. Upon our arrival, we immediately ran down to the hotel pub to grab some food & Guinness:

The Guinness, was breathtaking. I’d always heard that Guinness was just better in Europe. As a Guinness lover, I wasn’t sure how that was possible… But it is. It’s smoother. It’s creamier. It’s heavenlier? It’s just wow.

The food, however, was less than desirable (I am a food bitch, remember?). Presenting the world’s blandest potato skins:

The garliciest cheesy bread ever concocted:

I love garlic, but this tasted like half a bottle of garlic powder was poured on the bread. Not a fan.

But finally.. Something I could enjoy:

French fries (complete with approximately 4 kinds of ketchup).

I definitely noticed that the Irish weren’t really fans of salt & pepper shakers. I had no idea how much appreciation I had for these seasonings until I visited Ireland.

Thankfully, we had an awesome bartender the entire time we were there. He definitely made us feel right at home… talking soccer with Brandon & (according to Brandon) flirting with me. & the man can make a mean Bailey’s & Coffee. What’s not to love?

That evening we wandered over to a League of Ireland Soccer match between Bohemian FC & Bray Wanderers (a birthday present I purchased for Brandon):

20110915-081043.jpg
Man can those guys kick a ball around a field! It’s so impressive, but even I know they’re nowhere near the caliber of the English Premier League. But still, it was a lot of fun.

The next morning we woke up bright & early at 10:30am & took a short bus ride down to the City Centre. Apparently, the World Series of Hurling (don’t worry, we didn’t know what it was either) was that day in Dublin.

We started with a walk through the Garden of Remembrance & down O’Connell Street:

Through Temple Bar. I loved the little tile signs on stairs throughout Temple Bar. This particular one gave me a chuckle:

& stopping at Dublin Castle for a tour:

(Yes, you saw that in the movie Michael Collins).

After the tour & learning a lot about the government history of Ireland, we headed down to the Guinness Storehouse. The Storehouse is an impressive multi-story museum dedicated to Guinness’s history & brewing process. It has several pubs & eateries as well as a souvenir shop. On the 7th story, there’s a Sky Bar where you’re granted a free pint & nearly 360-degree views of the City:
20110915-081100.jpg

After enjoying our pints, we headed down to one of the restaurants to try the Guinness Beef Stew & Mash as well as a Guinness Brownie:

This meal is what I’d been waiting for since we stepped off the plane. Warm. Hearty. Savory. Guinness-y. Heavenly.

& Brandon had a case of post-lunch sleepies:

A few pints of Guinness will do that to ya every time.

The next day we went on walking tour that included St. Stephens Green, Grafton Street & Trinity College:

We had our picture taken with Molly Malone:

We ended our day with a tour of Kilmainham Gaol:

The history of the jail is incredible. So many important Irish historical figures served time & many died at Kilmainhaim Gaol.

& that concludes our time in Dublin. Any lapses in time were spent at the bar at Ardmore Hotel being pumped full of Guinness by Robert.

In all seriousness, despite the food, the entire staff & the accommodations at Ardmore were excellent. They made us feel welcomed & it’s not their fault that I’m a picky bitch. Much love to them 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Beer Me, booze, drunk bitch, Europe 2011, Pure Crazycakes

4 responses to “Europe Part 1: Dublin

  1. Leah

    Glad you had such a good first stop! Adrian’s uncle has an apt in Dublin and said if we ever want to go we can use it. We need to take him up on that! haha. 🙂
    I seriously love touring old jails. I don’t know why. It just fascinates me.
    And the view from that sky bar is gorgeous! Not to mention it’s a great picture of you two also!

  2. So, so jealous of your trip! I studied abroad in Dublin and I can say that you definitely made the most of your short stay — seriously, you saw all of the really important things. 🙂 Glad you love it!

  3. Pingback: Europe Part 6: Stonehenge & the Bitter End « Confections of a Food Bitch

  4. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Crock Pot Recipes « Confections of a Food Bitch

Leave a Reply

