Mexican Independence Day at Cantina Laredo

A little late is better than never, right?

Last Friday I met up with Stacey & Adam at Cantina Laredo to celebrate Mexican Independence Day. Previously, I’ve avoided this establishment because I thought it was a little on the pricey side. $8 for a margarita is pretty much absurd to my cheap ass. But then I started to follow them on Twitter, & found out they have some awesome happy hour specials including $4 well liquors & glasses of wine, $1 off beers & most importantly, $5 house margaritas:

20110930-103041.jpg

This isn’t your typical mexican restaurant’s neon green house margarita. This is a margarita that can hang with the big boys. Just look at the color – it’s obviously made from clear tequila, which tastes 100% better in my opinion. It’s not discolored by an overload of sour mix or fake lime juice either. This  house margarita is clearly ahead of the pack. Maybe, just maybe, I would actually pay the full $8 for this margarita. Yeah, I totally would.

Also, I love restaurants that do a good special if you check-in on Foursquare. Cantina is no exception:

20110930-103107.jpg

Who doesn’t love free queso?

20110930-103513.jpg

If you don’t like Cantina Laredo on Facebook, you should. They hold great contests on their Facebook page & that night I won a $25 gift card just for answering a question & posting this beauty shot on their Facebook wall:

Now that I’ve done happy hour at Cantina, I can’t wait to do a full meal there. Definitely on my must-eat list!
Cantina Laredo on Urbanspoon

1 Comment

Filed under booze, Restaurant Review

One response to “Mexican Independence Day at Cantina Laredo

  1. I’ve been twice and really enjoyed it. I had no idea about the social media specials.

Leave a Reply

