Is That You, Fall?

Over the weekend, the cooler temperatures definitely had me convinced fall had arrived. I was able to do a long run at 10 am & not die of heat stroke, so I immediately started craving stew, pot roast, chili & all sorts of cooler weather comfort foods. I couldn’t decide what exactly I wanted to make until I saw some recipe cards from the Guinness Storehouse laying on my bedroom floor. In an instant, I knew I wanted to attempt the Storehouse’s Beef Stew with Mash:

Ingredients:

Serves 4

  • 1 12oz Bottle of GUINNESS® Draught
  • 1 lb. diced stewing beef
  • 1 medium onion – diced
  • 3 large carrot – diced
  • 1 large celery – diced
  • 3 large parsnip – diced
  • 48 oz beef broth
  • Sprigs of fresh thyme and rosemary
  • Mashed potatoes (I used about a dozen small red potatoes & threw them in the mixer with butter, milk & Zoe’s Kitchen Spice of Life. Heavenly).

My only real change to the recipe was tripling up on the carrots & parsnips because I love the taste of vegetables in stew. I began by stir frying the beef & slowly added my diced vegetables & cooked until all was tender. I poured in the GUINNESS® & let it simmer & reduce by half. Since the original recipe called for thick beef stock, I substituted beef broth & some corn starch to thicken it up. I added the herbs and simmered very slowly for about 2 & 1/2 hours. The longer the better!

Serve with a large scoop of mashed potatoes & preferably a beer of your choice. I tried the Dundee Pumpkin Ale & it gave a nice complement. While Pumking is still my favorite pumpkin ale, the Dundee variety is not a bad option.

Now please Fall, don’t toy with my emotions.. Please be here to stay.

2 Comments

Filed under Beer Me, Man Food, Where's the Beef?

2 responses to “Is That You, Fall?

  1. Leah

    I LOVE fall flavors and smells and everything! I just wish it felt more like it here in FL. One more reason I’d rather live somewhere with real seasons. 😛
    That looks delicious though!

  2. By far one of my FAVORITE falls meals. Next to grilled cheese and soup.

Leave a Reply

