Pumpkin Spice Cookie Cake

20111011-065238.jpg
Yesterday was one of the best days I’ve had in awhile.

My stress level was lower. I had a nice run & I actually felt like going in the kitchen & makin’ a mess. For some inspiration, I let my second favorite dark haired, hazel eyed stud serenade me:

I started with Ashlee’s Famous Sugar Cookie recipe & made a few minor adjustments:

  • Cut the recipe in half
  • Omitted the almond extract & lemon zest
  • Added some pumpkin (1/4 c.), cinnamon (1/2 teaspoon), nutmeg (1/4 teaspoon) & cloves (1/4 teaspoon). I added those items just before sifting in the flour.
  • Rolled out the dough & cut it into a pumpkin shape (no stencil, just kinda guessed).

Have I ever mentioned the hardest part of baking for me? It’s definitely trying to not eat all the dough when I get to this point:

& I baked at 400 for 12 minutes. I let it cool, hopped in the shower, & whipped up some frosting for this bad boy. I kicked it old school & filled up a ziploc baggy, snipped the tip & added some piping for decoration:

Now who’s going to eat it for me?

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts, fall, Kid Friendly

2 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Cookie Cake

  1. Leah

    I’m sooooooooo happy that it’s pumpkin season. I LOVE pumpkin and would gladly eat the cookie for you. But only if I can also have some cuddle time with your puppies. 🙂

  2. yum yum yum!

    you made the frosting?! you should start a cookie cake shop.

Leave a Reply

