The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Usually I kick off the Race Season (aka The Most Wonderful Time of the Year) a little sooner than October 30, but hey, things are a little different this year.  This season, I’m once again doing the Thanksgiving Day Half (which is now the Subaru Distance Classic & it will be my 3rd year in a row), the Jax Bank Half & of course, The Gate River Run (also my 3rd year).

For the past two years, I’ve said I was going to run the Evergreen Pumpkin Run 10 Miler. Did I? No. This year, I decided it was finally time. I’ve been taking running a little more seriously the past few weeks & I felt like I was in a good spot to pull on some pink tights, a tutu & a tiara & get it done:

20111031-085949.jpg

Despite feeling pretty rough the first 6 miles, I managed to meet my goal of sub-2 hours.

20111031-085954.jpg

I completely ran the last 3 or so miles of the race in tunnel vision. I knew I had a goal. I knew what I needed to do to accomplish that goal. One foot in front of the other, pushing faster & digging deeper. It was a really satisfying feeling to break my goal & then some.

20111031-090020.jpg

The race this weekend gave me a lot to think about goal-wise. I’ve been really wanting to get to a sub 2:30 half & I feel like I can do it either at the Subaru or the Jax Bank. I know it’s going to take a lot of effort (& speedwork), but for the first time in a long time, I feel like I actually have my head in the game. Maybe I just needed a magic wand to give me the inspiration to go for it.

20111031-090031.jpg

After the race, we went over to Stacey’s for a survivor’s celebration. For the event, I made Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffins:

I can’t even begin to take credit for these moist & delicious beauties. I found the recipe on The Girl Who Ate Everything, who found it on Annie’s Eats. Definitely worth continuing to share around the interwebz.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, fall, half marathon, running

2 responses to “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. Ash

    you look adorable! great time – you’ll have an awesome race season full of PR’s!

  2. Leah

    Loved your outfit! 🙂 And I NEED one of those muffins. stat. They look all kinds of fluffy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

