Corn, Potato & Chicken Chowder

How is it November already? Granted, I’m thrilled because that means cooler weather & the holidays approaching, but this year has FLOWN by. Surely I’m not the only one who feels that way. But really? How on earth is it time for Starbucks to be passing out the red cups?

Now that the weather has cooled off a bit, I’ve been craving soups & chilis & anything warm & comforting. One of my go-to favorites is always a hearty Corn/Potato/Chicken/ Chowder. This particular variation combines all three & adds beans & carrots for extra depth.

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons butter
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 tablespoon flour
32 ounces chicken broth
2 1/2 cup diced Yukon Gold potatoes (about 4 large)
2 cups frozen yellow corn
2/3 cup milk
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 can white beans
2 diced chicken breasts
Salt and pepper to taste
Sharp Cheddar Cheese (garnish)
Chopped parsley (garnish)

In a large pot over medium high heat, melt butter and sauté onion about 5 minutes, until tender. Mix in flour to coat the onion. Add broth & bring to a boil, whisking constantly until smooth. Reduce heat, add potatoes, carrots, beans & chicken and simmer 20 minutes until tender.  Stir in corn and milk. Cook another 5 minutes, remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper. Garnish with cheddar cheese.

I originally made this corn chowder a few weeks ago, but it was still too hot out to fully enjoy it. So off to the freezer it went. Even after being in the freezer for a month or so, it was still delicious once defrosted & re-heated. If anything, I think the flavor matured & made a better overall product!

4 Comments

Filed under Chicken, Dinner, fall, Lunch

4 responses to “Corn, Potato & Chicken Chowder

  1. Leah

    That sounds delicious! I actually have a corn chowder recipe ready to make later this week. I love that the weather is starting to cool off in FL.
    I was in Walgreen’s last week and there’s already an entire Christmas aisle. I love the holidays but I need to take them on one at a time, people.

  2. Yum! I’m totally feeling the cold weather & soup vibe. I’ve made 3 different types of soup, split pea soup and black bean soup so far!

  3. It’s about to get cooooold as fuck here in Iowa, and I’m always looking for new soup/stew/chili recipes since that’s all I ever want to eat while hibernating. This looks DELISH!

  4. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

Leave a Reply

