Just See What Happens

Yeah, yeah… Another non-food related post. I know & promise I’ll blog about food again very soon.

This morning, I was g-chatting with my dear friend Leah about a guy I’ve been out with a few times. Each date has gone quite well & I’m starting to find myself wondering how much I actually like him. Per usual, I was analyzing details, trying to figure out the “signs” & what they mean, & overall just over-thinking everything.

& then she sent me this:

Well then. Way to call me out, Leah.

It took a moment to sink in, but that quote was exactly what I needed to see & hear. & we all need friends like that – to call us out when we’re being ridiculous & make us take a step back from the situation.

With that, I’ve decided that 2012 will be the year of “Just see what happens”. I know the mistakes I’ve made in my previous relationships & I know what’s led me to where I am at the present. No point in continually re-hashing it as all I can do now is take what I learned & move forward.

That’s the easy part.

The hard part is going to be not planning every detail of my future & analyzing every miniscule feeling that I have. As a control freak, fixating on these details are both the life & death of me. I mentally enable myself by doing it, but also drive myself completely insane. I get worked up over nothing or completely build up something that doesn’t exist. Ultimately, there is letdown.

As part of my own personal growth & resolutions for the New Year, I want to stop & just see what happens. While it might not happen overnight, or even in a week, eventually I want to let go & just let everything fall into place as it should. I want to be more aware of my over analyzation & learn to control it. Enough is enough.

 

As an after thought, I’d just like to share this article: 30 Things To Stop Doing To Yourself. Its got a lot of fantastic points & I think every one can learn something from it. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Life, random

2 responses to “Just See What Happens

  1. Leah

    haha. As much as it wasn’t meant as a direct “calling you out” quote… I thought of you immediately when I saw it. And as much as I think we all over analyze things from time to time, I just want you to enjoy each moment of this “ride”… no matter when and where the end may be. 🙂

  2. Charles

    Agree.Good advice..avoid micro manging..let the pieces fall n place.Remember..there are men under every rock. Much success!

Leave a Reply

