Turkey Sausage Bisquick Bake

This morning I crawled out of bed, wandered to the kitchen & stared at my fridge for an undetermined amount of time. The box of Bisquick jumped out at me & instantly made me crave a warm, eggy Southern breakfast. So I threw on some clothes, tossed out my whole “Don’t Go Anywhere Unless You’re Prepared to Run into Your Worst Enemy or the Man of Your Dreams” resolution, headed to Publix for bacon & began to ponder exactly what I was going to make.

I’ve tried to eat healthier lately… Cutting some calories to drop a few pounds, so I knew I had to keep it on the trimmer side. I stood in front of the bacon & sausage debating which choice would be the most prudent when I spied a new friend from Jimmy Dean:

Turkey sausage crumbles? 60% less fat? Pre-cooked? Super easy? Sounds worth a try.

So I grabbed a bag & headed home to whip up a Turkey Sausage Bisquick Bake.

Ingredients:

– 1/3 c. Bisquick Heart Smart

– 6 tbsp + 2 tbsp liquid egg whites, divided

– 1 tbsp water

– 1/8 tbsp Italian seasoning

– 2/3 c. Turkey Sausage

– 1/2 c. Fat Free Mozzarella

Preheat oven to 400 & spray/grease an 8 inch loaf pan. Mix Bisquick, 2 tbsp of egg whites, water & Italian seasoning. Spread across bottom of loaf pan. Layer sausage, remaining egg whites & cheese in pan. Bake for 20 minutes. Makes 2 servings.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

3 responses to “Turkey Sausage Bisquick Bake

  1. The Fashionably Fit household is having this for dinner soon!

    PS I love the “don’t go anywhere…” resolution. So perfect and fits in with my personal philosophy that it’s never acceptable to look like a hag.

  2. This looks so much like my favorite breakfast pizza (that I can’t get anymore since I moved). It is definitely on my breakfast plan for next weekend!

  3. You are fucking genius….I’ll be making this ASAP!

Leave a Reply

