Sweet Potato & Brie Flatbread

The title really says everything you need to know. Or at least it did for me when I found this recipe on Pinterest.

Sweet potatoes? Yum.

Brie? Double yum.

Flatbread? Triple yum.

You see, over the past few, well, months I’ve been suffering from acid reflux. I’m sure my increased red wine & pizza consumption had nothing to do with it, but I’ve had to cut back on those two loves regardless. When I saw this flatbread, I knew it’d be a great, healthy, less acidic way to get my pizza fix.

What would’ve helped would’ve been if I’d read the recipe before pulling all the ingredients & going to town my way. How cavalier of me. But that at least explains why my version isn’t nearly as pretty. But you know what? Who said food has to be pretty to taste good. Refried beans look like dog food, but they’re still delicious.

ANYWAYS.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound frozen pizza dough, thawed (or if you’re lazy like me, you’ll grab a pre-made whole wheat crust)
  • cornmeal for the baking sheet
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled, halved, and thinly sliced
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced
  • 8 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 4 ounces Brie, sliced

Heat oven to 425° F. Shape the dough into a large oval and place on a cornmeal-dusted baking sheet (or if you’re like me, place the pre-made crust on your pizza stone). In a medium bowl, toss the sweet potato, shallots, thyme, 3 tablespoons of the oil, salt, and pepper. Scatter the potato mixture over the dough and top with the Brie.

So here’s where I went wrong.

I said I didn’t read the recipe, right? I got to slicing my shallots & then I went to peel & slice my sweet potato. Except I made the mistake (mistake may be a harsh word… It was more so a happy accident) of baking my sweet potato. Whoops. Have you ever tried slicing a baked sweet potato? Not pretty. It’s way too soft. So instead, I chopped it in cubes & stirred it up with the shallots, thyme, olive oil, salt & pepper & made it a nice, spreadable mixture. I also used a soft domestic brie & spread it all over my crust. Then I topped it with the sweet potato shallot mixture & popped in the oven for 10 minutes.

Now if you’re following the real recipe (dough & all) this is the point where you bake until golden brown and crisp, 20 to 25 minutes.

For the record, it tastes delicious with white wine… specifically pinot grigio. You know, if you’re into that sort of thing.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Vegetarian

3 responses to “Sweet Potato & Brie Flatbread

  1. This is perfect timing!! I have actually been mulling the idea over in my head of making something sorta like this but had no direction! Thanks!!!

  2. Leah

    Looks and sounds SO good! 🙂 Definitely will have to try this at some point. Have I mentioned how much I love pinterest? Not in the last 5 mins, I guess. 😉

  3. I’ve been wanting to make this since you sent me the link. It’s some my husband would love, too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

