Pele’s Wood Fire – Breakfast Edition

Yes, it’s another Pele’s review 🙂

& yes, it’s glowing… Per usual.

& no, I’m not being bribed.

(But I could be bribed. With Biscotti. Just sayin’.)

This time I met up with some fellow Jacksonville Tweeters for their breakfast service. My normal pre-work running route takes me right in front of Pele’s almost every morning & it always smells divine. Maybe it’s the espresso, maybe it’s my body just knowing there’s sugary pastries inside, but I’ve been dying to give it a try.

Since I’m rapidly gaining a reputation for my love of bacon, I decided to start with the Brown Sugar Bacon Latte:

While I’m merely theorizing on how it’s made, I’m pretty sure it involves a bit of bacon grease as evidenced by the greasy spots floating in the surface of the beverage. The bacon flavor of the latte was rich & the brown sugar was a nice complement as it always is with bacon.

The menu offers both sweet & savory pastries, but since I was in a hurry, I opted to grab a chocolate croissant & a cinnamon sugar-coated Zeppole:

While I really enjoyed my experience at Pele’s for their breakfast service, I’m curious as to how it will fare. With several other breakfast spots in the same vicinity (Starbucks, Einsteins, Bold Bean, & the new Bagel Love in Avondale, etc) I wonder how it’ll stack up against the competition in the area. It gave me more of a sit, relax & enjoy a newspaper vibe & less of a hurry up, get your coffee & bagel & go about it. Maybe that distinction will set it apart, but I do wonder how much there is a market for that in this area. Only time will tell.

Pele's Wood Fire on Urbanspoon

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Restaurant Review

2 responses to “Pele’s Wood Fire – Breakfast Edition

  1. Stacey

    Everything looks so fresh and yummy!

    I cannot get into the bacon obsession, but everytime I see something unusual with bacon in it, I think of you! Lol

  2. Pingback: Pele’s Wood Fire « Confections of a Food Bitch

Leave a Reply

